Learners who are assessed as competent against this unit standard will be able to identify the hazard of confined spaces and the precautions required for the safety of the workers and the public.

This unit standard underpins Elective Learning.

It contributes to the development of a professional community of Construction workers. The contribution to The National Skills Development Strategy is the key development interface between learners and new competencies to be achieved.

Its contribution to socio-economic transformation is that learners would be able to undergo RPL-assessment and thereby receive recognition for previous learning and experience. The employability and career prospects of learners can therefore be enhanced by the qualification.

SAQA ID: 15034
NQF Level: 2
Credits: 2
Accrediting SETA: CETA
Duration: 2 days
Recommended Entry Criteria:
• ABET Level 4 Literacy
• ABET Level 3 Numeracy
Certification Issued: Competency Certificate

Unit Standard Range

  • The typical scope of this unit standard is:
  • Trenches
  • Manholes
  • Chambers
  • Tunnels
  • Ducts
  • Below water tables
  • Depressions
  • Basements

Specific Outcomes

  1. Identify the hazards of working in confined spaces.
  2. Identify appropriate protective clothing or equipment.
  3. Identify training requirements for unskilled workers working in confined spaces train the workers.
  4. Plan and Implement emergency procedures.

Want to know more?

    Contact us now on 010 025 3304 or email info@sikelelaskills.co.za