A learner credited with this unit standard will be capable of identifying, containing, preventing and extinguishing different types of fires by operating basic fire fighting equipment.

The qualifying learner will be capable of:

  • Identifying different types of fires.
  • Explaining and practice fire prevention.
  • Operating basic fire fighting equipment.
  • Perform basic fire fighting procedures.

SAQA ID: 252250
NQF Level: 1
Credits: 3
Accrediting SETA: TETA
Duration: 1 day
Recommended Entry Criteria:
Communication at ABET Level 3 or equivalent.
Mathematical Literacy at ABET Level 3 or equivalent.

Unit Standard Range


Specific Outcomes

1. Identify and classify hazardous/dangerous goods.
2. Handle and store hazardous/dangerous goods.
3. Handle and store hazardous/dangerous goods in accordance with laid down safety standards, pollution, and environmental requirements.
4. Implement statutory requirements.
5. Take the appropriate actions in the event of accidents or incidents

Want to know more?

    Contact us now on 010 025 3304 or email info@sikelelaskills.co.za